New Jaguars Get a New Classification in 2018

We're sure your familiar with the previous classification of models on Jaguar models, and our new naming scheme is easier than ever to understand. With a commitment to creating a full line-up of electrified models, updating the nomenclature was necessary to integrate the newer models.

Previously, Jaguar models were designated by a number followed by a letter, such as "30d". The number was in reference to the engine displacement, so a "30" meant a 3.0L engine. The following letter designated the fuel type on that model.

Starting with the Jaguar E-Pace, all models will now be designated in a new way. Flipping the previous order, a letter is first, followed by a set of numbers. The general idea remains the same, just updated to reflect the ever-growing brand. The first letter once again, designates the fuel type, with the addition of a letter for Electric vehicles.

  • "D" for Diesel
  • "P" for Petroleum or Gasoline
  • "E" for Electric
After the letter comes a set of numbers, designating the horsepower of the Jaguar you're driving. So if you are driving a new Jaguar XE with the Ingenium 2.0L, turbocharged 4-cylinder engine, it would be classified as P-247.  The first model to receive this new badging will be the new 2018 Jaguar E-PACE Compact SUV is designated as "D-180", where it previously would have been designated as "20d". The difference is mild, but we think it'll create better clarity when shopping for your next Jaguar model. Whether it's the Jaguar XE, XF or F-TYPE, you'll find the perfect model for you here in Troy, MI.


Jaguars embrace of fully hybrid, plug-in hybrid and mild-hybrid vehicles shows a commitment to creating powerful, fuel efficient, luxury vehicles. To ensure clarity across all powertrains, this new system of classification will be implemented starting in 2018.

Categories: News